Tue, 25 Jun 2019

Mumbai (Maharashtra) [India], Mar 17 (ANI): Maharashtra Navnirman Sena (MNS) will not contest the upcoming Lok Sabha elections, the party said on Sunday.

Led by Raj Thackeray, the party didn't win any seat in the 2014 Lok Sabha election.

The Election Commission of India (ECI) on March 10 announced the schedule for the 17th Lok Sabha election, which will be held in seven phases beginning April 11. The final phase of voting will take place on May 19. The counting of votes will be done on May 23.

Announcing the election schedule, Chief Election Commissioner (CEC) Sunil Arora said: "The gazette notification will be issued on March 18. The last date of nomination of first phase polling will be March 25.""The last date for withdrawal of candidature for the first phase is March 28. The first phase polling will take place on April 11. The date of counting will be May 23, 2019. As many as 91 constituencies in 20 states will go to polls in the first phase," he said. (ANI)

More Mumbai News

Access More

Sign up for Mumbai News

a daily newsletter full of things to discuss over drinks.and the great thing is that it's on the house!