Wed, 20 Jan 2021

Rajasthan Royals won the toss and chose to bat against Kings XI Punjab in Mohali.

Royals won their most recent match, against, Mumbai Indians, and are desperately trying to bring their season to life, having suffered five losses from their first six games. Kings XI, meanwhile, are looking to move up into the top four, with their four wins from eight matches currently placing them fifth on the table.

Royals made three changes to the side that beat Mumbai, however, dropping overseas batsmen Steven Smith and Liam Livingstone as well as local offspinner K Gowtham, in favour of allrounder Stuart Binny, legspinner Ish Sodhi and batsman Ashton Turner, who is making his IPL debut.

Kings XI have also made three changes, leaving out Sam Curran, Sarfaraz Khan, and Andrew Tye, replacing them with David Miller, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, and Arshdeep Singh. Originally, though, Australia allrounder Moises Henriques was meant to play but minutes after he received his cap, he suffered an injury and needed the assistance of two of the support staff to even walk.

Kings XI had lost their most recent match - to Royal Challengers Bangalore.

Rajasthan Royals: 1 Ajinkya Rahane (capt), 2 Jos Buttler, 3 Sanju Samson, 4 Rahul Tripathi, 5 Ashton Turner, 6 Stuart Binny, 7 Jofra Archer, 8 Shreyas Gopal, 9 Jaydev Unadkat, 10 Dhawal Kulkarni, 11 Ish Sodhi

Kings XI Punjab: 1 KL Rahul, 2 Chris Gayle, 3 Mayank Agarwal, 4 David Miller, 5 Nicholas Pooran, 6 Mandeep Singh, 7 R Ashwin (capt), 8 Mohammed Shami, 9 M Ashwin, 10 Mujeeb Ur Rahman, 11 Arshdeep Singh

Sign up for Mumbai News

a daily newsletter full of things to discuss over drinks.and the great thing is that it's on the house!